Reposted from:

Dr. Michong Rayborn, associate professor in the Nurse Anesthesia Program at The University of Southern Mississippi (USM), has been selected to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (FAANA).

The new designation was developed to recognize accomplished leaders who are dedicated to the advancement of clinical practice, education, research and professional advocacy consistent with the highest standards of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists.

Rayborn is one of just 65 nurse anesthetists across the nation chosen for the debut class. She credits her colleagues within USM’s College of Nursing and Health Professions for creating a pathway to the selection.

“The FAANA designation communicates a commitment to excellence in the profession of nurse anesthesia, so I am both humbled and pleased to be named,” said Rayborn. “I owe a tremendous debt to the Nurse Anesthesia Program faculty for their encouragement and to our Dean, Dr. Lachel Story, for her strong endorsement.”

Much of Rayborn’s work has focused on the impact of culture on Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) education and practice and she has collaborated with the Korean Association of Nurse Anesthetists to compare CRNA practice in South Korea to the United States. As advisor and consultant to KANA, she advocates for developing a national scope of practice, legislative protection and enhanced training programs for Korean CRNAs.

“As an immigrant who came to America 40 years ago with only a nursing diploma, I am overwhelmed by the opportunities this country has provided to me,” said Rayborn. “As the only inductee of Asian ancestry in this class, I am thankful for collaboration with my colleagues in the Korean Association of Nurse Anesthetists to enhance CRNA practice in their country.”

Dr. LaWanda Baskin, assistant professor and director of the School of Leadership and Advanced Nursing Practice at USM, lauded Rayborn’s achievement as a dedicated member of the Nurse Anesthesia Program faculty.

“Dr. Rayborn’s commitment to the field of anesthesia is demonstrated through her exemplary teaching, scholarship, and service. said Baskin. “Her recognition as a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists is well deserved.”

Consideration for Fellows of the AANA is open to any CRNA who is an Active member of AANA with an established career in nurse anesthesia. The candidate must meet the following minimum eligibility requirements:

  • Minimum of 10 years full-time professional experience acquired as a practitioner of nurse anesthesia or as an educator/program director, facility leader, or business leader.
  • Minimum of 10 years of continuous certification in good standing as a registered nurse anesthetist.
  • Minimum of 10 years of AANA membership at time of application (not including years as a student member).
  • Evidence or record of attending AANA conferences demonstrating a commitment to the association.
  • Demonstrate outstanding achievements in nurse anesthesia and leadership that command respect and recognition from other recognized leaders in the profession.
  • Provide evidence of enduring and substantial professional achievement that demonstrates professional and personal growth and use of innovative, creative solutions in at least one of several categories.

To see the complete list of Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, visit: